Rolling Tyres

My personal experience with (an almost) rolling tyre incident was back in early 80s in my student days using an old Nissan hatch back. While driving in the middle of Nottingham city, suddenly the Nissan sprung a regular clunking sound from the front left wheel. As it gets louder, I stopped by the road side. Fearing a major axle failure, universal joint failure or something, I called AA for help, and their mobile van promptly came by. I was a wee bit red in the face, when the AA man diagnosed the clunking as due to poorly tightened wheel nuts. The day before I did change that wheel due to a flat tyre. Lessons learned: tighten the wheel nuts to “feet force” tight, not just “hands force” tight.

About sabre23t

An analyst, researcher, civil engineer & information technologist working in a transportation company.
This entry was posted in Society. Bookmark the permalink.