How to Blog Safely Unanonymously?

Is what I thought of when reading the EFF article (that Jon Choo post led me to) on How to Blog Safely (About Work or Anything Else) published on 6 April 2005 …

Blogs are like personal telephone calls crossed with newspapers. They’re the perfect tool for sharing your favorite chocolate mousse recipe with friends–or for upholding the basic tenets of democracy by letting the public know that a corrupt government official has been paying off your boss … Here we offer a few simple precautions to help you maintain control of your personal privacy so that you can express yourself without facing unjust retaliation … The best way to blog and still preserve some privacy is to do it anonymously. But being anonymous isn’t as easy as you might think … One way to make sure your blog doesn’t earn you a pink slip is to make sure that you write about certain protected topics. Most states have laws designed to prevent employers from firing people who talk openly about their politics outside of work, for example … As long as you blog anonymously and in a work-safe way, what you say online is far less likely to come back to hurt you.

What I really want to know is “How to Blog Safely Unanonymously“. I’m certainly not anonymous to those who really wants to know more about me such as; my name, employer or work place. So far, I’ve been holding on to the tenet, “Only write what you don’t mind everybody knowing” that I hope have limited me to writing only safe stuff. πŸ˜‰

  • Dumbster plus how to blog safely – by Jon Choo, 8 April 2005. “I disagree with them that one should be anonymous when posting a blog but to each his own.
  • Your Guide to Blogging Safely – by David Deschenes, 8 March 2005. Refers to CNet article.
  • CNet New.com – FAQ: Blogging on the job – by Declan McCullagh, 8 March 2005. Good round up on issues around blogging at work or impacting work. “Delta Air Lines last year fired flight attendant Ellen Simonetti because of her blog. Friendster, Google and Microsoft also have waved goodbye to employees or contractors who, in the opinion of a corporate manager, were unacceptably indiscreet in their online scribblings.
About sabre23t

An analyst, researcher, civil engineer & information technologist working in a transportation company.
This entry was posted in Blogging. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to How to Blog Safely Unanonymously?

  1. Edrei says:

    I don’t know. For one, I’m not popular or anything so it really doesn’t matter. But one thing I learnt from blogging for a long time is how to blog cryptically. It’s just about being metaphorical about dangerous sensitive things rather than being objective about it. That way people don’t find out what you actually mean and it can be interpreted in so many ways so people won’t really know who you are.

  2. sabre23t. says:

    Hi Edrei. Nice to see you here, after your blogathon. πŸ˜‰ Being metaphorical about dangerous sensitive things is certainly useful. The trick of writing between the lines complements it. Self censoring in other words. Doing that, while still calling a spade a spade is the trick to learn. :-/

    The above particularly important for me personally, since I would have to assume any of those who knows me could read my blog. Its URL would be pretty obvious from the personal email address in my personal and office email signatures.

    regards, sabre23t =^.^=

  3. MBA says:

    Hmmmm….. finally this sabre23t.com idup semula…..

  4. lilian says:

    hehehe, I tak ade kerja, tak ade boss, except the abang kat rumah. So long as I jaga image the paymaster, I selamat.

  5. sabre23t. says:

    MBA: Yep, dia hidup. πŸ˜‰

    lilian: Ah no boss eh? πŸ˜‰ Me a boss, so generally “selamat”, but do have bigger bosses that have to be borne in mind. :-/

    regards, sabre23t =^.^=

  6. MENJ says:

    sabre: i am my own boss.

  7. sabre23t. says:

    MENJ: Being your own boss certainly helps, to minimise blogging risk. But you’d agree that customers/clients reacting badly to your blog would be a risk right?
    regards, sabre23t =^.^=

  8. Pingback: Christian gifts ?uid=694509 ::all best

Comments are closed.